Legacy Laureates

Since 2000, the University of Pittsburgh has honored alumni who demonstrate the pinnacle of achievement in professional and civic leadership by bestowing the Legacy Laureate award. Below are listed Pitt Public Health alumni who have been named Legacy Laureate. Their professional titles are listed as of the time the award was presented and may have changed since.

Diane Peterson, MPH '75 (health policy and management)
Founder of D. Peterson & Associates

Ralph W. Hingson, MPH '70 (health policy and management)
Director, Division of Epidemiology and Prevention Research, National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism

Dietrich Stephan, PhD '96 (human genetics)
President and CEO, Silicon Valley Biosystems

Robert Henkel, MPH '83 (health administration)
President and CEO, Ascension Health

Lucile Adams-Campbell, PhD '83 (epidemiology)
Associate Director for Minority Health and Professor, Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Georgetown University Medical Center

Wen-Ta Chiu, DrPH '89 (epidemiology)
Minister of the Department of Health, Taiwan

Nicole Johnson, MPH '07 (behavioral and community health)
Former Miss America; Author; Diabetes Education Advocate

Thomas M. Priselac, MPH '75 (health administration)
President and CEO, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Stanley Battle, MPH ’79 (public health social work)
Professor, Central Connecticut State University

Judith Davenport, MPH ’74 (maternal child health)
Director, The Heinz Endowments

David Hunter, MPH ’70 (health administration)
Principal, H&G Advisors, Inc.

William Sollecito, DrPH ’70 (biostatistics)
Professor, UNC School of Public Health; Retired President, Quintiles

James Craig, MPH ’63 (environmental health)
Retired Director of Health and Human Services, General Mills;
President, Family and Preventive Medicine Services, Inc.

Maryann Fralic, DrPH ’82 (health administration)
Professor, Johns Hopkins Carey Business School and
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Note: the Legacy Laureate Award was discontinued by Chancellor Gallegher in 2015.