Directory Calendar News Careers Alumni Giving

Student Awards

BCHS’s Baumann receives 2019 Silverman Scholarship

Doctoral student Sara Baumann (BCHS ’19) has received the Silverman Scholarship from the Department of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences. The funds will support her research on chhaupadi in Nepal, a traditional harmful practice where women and girls are isolated during their menstrual cycles. Baumann is conducting a qualitative study in far-west Nepal to understand intentions to change behaviors after criminalization of the practice.  

Liu's paper selected for Distinguished Student Paper Award

Peng Liu's (BIOST '16, '20) paper "MethylSeqDesign: A framework for Methyl-Seq genome-wide power calculation and study design issues" has been selected for the Distinguished Student Paper Award. Congratulations!   

Platt included in What's Next: Politics

THE INCLINE - Julie Platt (BCHS/MSW '19) has been selected as one of 25 Pittsburghers making a difference in the third class of What's Next: Politics. Platt was one of the first to join Emily Skopov’s campaign to challenge Pa. House Speaker Mike Turzai for Pa. House District 28. Platt recruited volunteers, organized issue-centric canvasses, knocked on doors, and led the way with new ideas for the campaign, including community roundtable discussi... 

Hoang receives new practitioner of the year award from Kappa Psi Mountain East Province

Congratulations to Karen Hoang (MMPH '22) for receiving the practitioner of the year award from Kappa Psi Mountain East Province. This award recognizes a member of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc. Mountain East Province who has graduated in the past seven years and best balances his/her professional career with involvement in Kappa Psi.  

Heather Tomko Wins Disability Service Award

PITTWIRE - The Dick Thornburgh Forum Disability Service Award goes to HEATHER TOMKO (HPM '19) for service that has made a difference in the lives of children and adults with disabilities. Her work in activism includes taking part in the Jewish Healthcare Foundation’s Jonas Salk Health Activist Fellowship, blogging on “The Heather Report” and creating the advocacy organization, Accessible YOUniverse.  

Pitt Public health students competed and won at Code4PA code-a-thon competition

At this year's Code4PA event, two teams of Pitt Public Health students won prizes in the regional competition and advanced to the final round. A team of four, including HUANG LIN (BIOS '20), QING YIN (BIOS '21), AND LINGYUN LYU (BIOS '22), won best use of a case/visualization. The other team, including GARRY SMYDA (BIOS '22), won best use of Esri Technology.  

John Cordier and team won the Global Business Challenge

After winning the Kuzneski Innovation Cup from the Innovation Institute for FRED (a Framework for Reconstructing Epidemiological Dynamics), a software platform that simulates the spread of disease, mitigation strategies, & policy implications, John Cordier (HPH '19) assembled a team  on short notice and lead them to victory in the Global Business Challenge, held in Brisbane, Australia.  

FRED takes 1st place of the Kuzneski Innovation Cup

Congratulations to the winners of the Kuzneski Innovation Cup, HPM and PHDL's MARK ROBERTS and JOHN GREFENSTETTE, JOHN CORDIER (HPM '18), and DEAN DONALD S. BURKE! 1st place went to FRED (a Framework for Reconstructing Epidemiological Dynamics), a software platform that simulates the spread of disease, mitigation strategies, & policy implications.The Kuzneski Innovation Cup is for Pitt students who are developing innovations that can positively ... 

Tomko receives Dick Thornburgh Disability Service Award

Congrats to HEATHER TOMKO (HPM '19) for receiving this award, given to Pitt students whose service has made a difference in the lives of children and adults with disabilities.   

Thompson receives Predoctoral Fellowship from NHLBI

JESSICA THOMPSON (BCHS '21), was awarded a NRSA Individual Predoctoral Fellowship (F31) from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. This 3 year award will fund her doctoral training and dissertation research on cardiovascular disease prevention among rural Appalachian women. She plans to use a novel application of spatial analysis and concept mapping to improve CVD outcomes.  

Lin receives best poster award at SAGES 2018 conference

BIOS student, HUANG LIN (PhD '21), won the prize for best poster presentation at SAGES 2018, the Symposium on Advances in Genomics, Epidemiology, and Statistics conference. Huang presented his work on developing a novel methodology for analyzing microbiome data. The title of his poster was "Analysis of Differential Abundance of Taxa in Microbiome Studies Using An Off-Set Based Linear Regression."  

Kujawa receives travel award to attend ASV 2018

A $500 Student Travel Award has been awarded to MIKE KUJAWA (IDM '21) to attend the 37th Annual Meeting of the American Society for Virology. The conference is hosted by the University of Maryland and will take place July 14-18, 2018.  

Dean's Day 2018 IDM departmental award recipients

Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology awards during our annual Dean's Day student research competition were given to KELSEY MESSERSCHMIDT (MPH '19), BETHANY FLAGE (MS '18), ROBERTA METTUS (MS '19), and RENEE ANDERKO (PhD '22).  

Dean's Day 2018 HUGEN departmental award recipients

MEGAN HAGER (MS/MPH '18) won in the master's category and TERESA CAPASSO (PhD '21) received the doctoral prize.   

Dean's Day 2018 HPM departmental award recipients

NINA YACOVONI (MPH '18) received the prize for the master's category and RAYMOND VAN CLEVE (PHD '19) received the doctoral prize given by the Department of Health Policy and Management.   

Dean's Day 2018 EPI departmental award recipients

This year, KATHLEEN MAKSIMOWICZ-MCKINNON (MPH '18) received the prize for the master's category and CHRISTIAN GARCIA (PhD '18) received the doctoral prize.   

EOH awards Keleti Award at Dean's Day 2018

Environmental and Occupational Health has traditionally offered the Keleti Award at Dean’s Day to recognize the presentation that demonstrated excellence in environmental health. This year’s Keleti winner is RAHEL BIRRU (PhD '18).  

Biostatistics departmental award recipient for Dean's Day 2018

The Department of Biostatistics prize went to JOANNE BEER (PhD '18). She presented a poster on  Predicting Social Responsiveness Scale scores from fMRI data using structured sparse penalized regression.  

Dean's Day 2018 BCHS departmental award recipients

WILLIAM LOUTH-MARQUEZ (MPH '20) received the prize for the master's category and LYCIA TRAMUJAS VASCONCELLOS NEUMANN (PhD '19) received the doctoral prize.    

Dean’s Day award recipients, Delta Omega and Rosenkranz prizes

This year’s Delta Omega prize was awarded to AMRITA SAHU (EOH ’19), and the Herbert Rosenkranz Prize was given to EMMETT HENDERSON (BCHS ’21). 

More student stories

Share News

Share stories about Pitt Public Health students, researchers, faculty, or staff using the form at

© 2019 by University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health

Login  |  Sitemap