Executive in Residence

The purpose of the Executive in Residence (EIR) program is to enhance students’ contact with and knowledge about the world of practice. The EIR meets with students collectively and individually several times during the academic year regarding career development, professionalism and leadership. Below is the list of the current and past executives and their bios (during the time of their EIR).

Minimize 2019-2020: Robert Curry


Robert H. Curry has been the President & CEO of Emanate Health since November 2008. He joined Emanate Health after serving in the same capacity for five years at O'Connor Hospital in San Jose, Calif. Before coming to O'Connor Hospital, Rob was CEO of Thunderbird Medical Center, a 640-bed Banner Health System hospital in Phoenix, Arizona, for 13 years. During four of those years, he also served as CEO of Maryvale Samaritan Medical Center, a 340-bed community hospital that was an affiliate within the Banner Health System. Rob also has held executive positions with hospital systems in Youngstown, Ohio, and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Rob was recognized by the Los Angeles Business Journal as one of the 500 most influential community and business leaders reshaping Los Angeles County in 2019. He serves as the Board Chair for Private Essential Access Community Hospitals (PEACH)–a network of private, core safety net hospitals in California that care for a disproportionate share of low-income, medically vulnerable patients. Rob is currently a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives. He serves on the board of directors for the California Hospital Association and also serves as a member of its executive committee. Rob previously served as a member on the board of the American Hospital Association, Region 9.

He previously served as a member of the Southern California Hospital Council, and while in San Jose, he served as a board member and chair of the Northern California Hospital Association. Additionally, while in Phoenix, Rob served on the board of the Arizona Hospital Association. Throughout his career, Rob has been involved in numerous service organizations and community boards including: the American Heart Association, United Way, YMCA and Rotary International. Rob holds a Bachelor of Arts in Economics and a Master’s in Public Health Administration, both from the University of Pittsburgh.

Maximize 2018–2019: Louis Shapiro

Maximize 2017–2018: Tom Sadvary

Maximize 2016–2017: Scott Becker

Maximize 2015–2016: Mark Sevco

Maximize 2014–2015: Ray Grady

Maximize 2013–2014: Norm Mitry

Maximize 2012–2013: Robert J. Henkel

Maximize 2011–2012: Cindy Dorundo

Maximize 2010–2011: Michael Young

Maximize 2009–2010: James Collins

Maximize 2008–2009: Leslie Davis

Maximize 2007–2008: Thomas Priselac

Maximize 2006–2007: David Hunter

Maximize 2005–2006: Thomas Timcho

Maximize 2003–2005: Michael Blackwood

Maximize 2002–2003: John Zanardelli