Student Awards

Meet Jordan McBride (MHA/MBA '21), Gideon Scholar

"Being a Dawn Gideon Scholar helped me feel like HPM was a great fit for me. [At the] annual golf outing...I was surrounded by inspiring women and men in the healthcare field, and I just felt right at home. I was energized by the stories that I heard. It made me excited for what I can learn and contribute to HPM. It was at that time that I knew I had made the right decision about both HPM and Pitt Public Health."  

MMPH graduate Eva Chernoff honored with U.S. Public Health Service excellence award

Pitt Medicine and Pitt Public Health graduate, Eva Chernoff (MMPH '19, MD '19) was honored with the 2019 U.S. Public Health Service Excellence in Public Health Award in recognition of her commitment to advocacy, education, and service for marginalized and underserved populations, and leadership in policy change in public health. The award recognizes visionary medical students who are public health champions advancing the service's mission to “pr... 

Biostatistics departmental award recipient for Dean's Day 2019

The Department of Biostatistics awarded two prizes. First place went to Junyao Wang (PhD '20) and second place went to Jerry Zhang (PhD '22).  

2019 Celebration of Student Awards

On April 27, 2019, Pitt Public Health celebrated recent graduates with awards given upon the culmination of a degree program. Delta Omega's honor society inductees were announced and outstanding thesis/essay and dissertation awards were conferred. Outstanding Student Awards were also given at both the master's and doctoral level, as well as Dean's Service Awards.   

Wei wins Lifetime Data Science Student Paper Award

Congratulations to Yue (Luna) Wei (BIOST '21) who won for Gene-based Association Analysis for Bivariate Time-to-event Data through Functional Regression with Copula Models during this year's Conference on Lifetime Data Science: Foundations and Frontiers meeting May 29-31 in Pittsburgh.   

Zhe Sun among three students to win Distinguished Paper Award at ENAR

Zhe Sun (BIOST '19) presented BAMM-SC: A Bayesian Mixture Model for Clustering Droplet-Based Single Cell Transcriptomic Data from Population Studies at the spring meeting of the International Biometric Society. Congratulations!   

Award recipients for 2019's CPHP Translation and Cartier Ulrich Award

In conjunction with Dean's Day, Margaret Carr (EPI '22) was awarded the Center for Public Health Practice Award for Translation and Application of Research to Public Health Policy and Practice. In addition, Emily Fitzpatrick (EPI '19) and Abisola Olaniyan (BCHS '21) were awarded with the Catherine Cartier Ulrich Memorial Award for Service to the Underserved.   

Dean's Day 2019 award recipients, Delta Omega and Rosenkranz prizes

This year's Delta Omega prize was awarded to Teagen O'Malley (BCHS '19), and the Herbert Rosenkranz Prize was given to Brandy Hill (EOH '21).   

Dean's Day 2019 Doctoral Category Winners

Congratulations to first place winner Jessica Thompson (BCHS ‘20). Second  place was awarded to Sarah Minion (EPI ‘19) and third  to Abisola Olaniyan (BCHS ‘21).  

Dean's Day 2019 Master's Category Winners

Congratulations to Dean's Day winners in the master's category. Receiving first place is  Beth Hoffman (BCHS ‘23). Second place was awarded to  Kevin Stoner (HPM ‘19). Third place was given to K evin Sullivan (EPI ‘19).  

Dean's Day 2019 BCHS departmental award recipients

Alexa Furek (MPH '21) received the prize for the master's category and Yuae Park (PhD '20) received the doctoral prize.   

Dean's Day 2019 HPM departmental award recipients

Krista Grobelny (MPH '22) won the master's level award and Mara Hollander (PhD '19) won the doctoral level award.   

Dean's Day 2019 HUGEN departmental award recipients

Zeynep Erdogen-Yildirim (MS '19) won in the MS category and Jacqueline Cohen (MPH '19) won in the MPH category. Teresa Capasso (PhD '19) won in the PhD category.   

Dean's Day 2019 IDM departmental award recipients

Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology awards during our annual Dean's Day student research competition were given to Lindsay Summers (MPH '21), and Roberta Reis (PhD '19).  

Pitt Public Health wins at the Health Disparities Poster Competition

Congratulations to Jessica Thompson (BCHS '21) and Stephanie Lynn Corey (EPI '19) for winning awards at this year's Health Disparities Poster Competition!   

BCHS’s Baumann receives 2019 Silverman Scholarship

Doctoral student Sara Baumann (BCHS ’19) has received the Silverman Scholarship from the Department of Behavioral and Community Health Sciences. The funds will support her research on chhaupadi in Nepal, a traditional harmful practice where women and girls are isolated during their menstrual cycles. Baumann is conducting a qualitative study in far-west Nepal to understand intentions to change behaviors after criminalization of the practice.  

Liu's paper selected for Distinguished Student Paper Award

Peng Liu's (BIOST '16, '20) paper "MethylSeqDesign: A framework for Methyl-Seq genome-wide power calculation and study design issues" has been selected for the Distinguished Student Paper Award. Congratulations!   

Platt included in What's Next: Politics

THE INCLINE - Julie Platt (BCHS/MSW '19) has been selected as one of 25 Pittsburghers making a difference in the third class of What's Next: Politics. Platt was one of the first to join Emily Skopov’s campaign to challenge Pa. House Speaker Mike Turzai for Pa. House District 28. Platt recruited volunteers, organized issue-centric canvasses, knocked on doors, and led the way with new ideas for the campaign, including community roundtable discussi... 

Hoang receives new practitioner of the year award from Kappa Psi Mountain East Province

Congratulations to Karen Hoang (MMPH '22) for receiving the practitioner of the year award from Kappa Psi Mountain East Province. This award recognizes a member of Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, Inc. Mountain East Province who has graduated in the past seven years and best balances his/her professional career with involvement in Kappa Psi.  

Heather Tomko Wins Disability Service Award

PITTWIRE - The Dick Thornburgh Forum Disability Service Award goes to HEATHER TOMKO (HPM '19) for service that has made a difference in the lives of children and adults with disabilities. Her work in activism includes taking part in the Jewish Healthcare Foundation’s Jonas Salk Health Activist Fellowship, blogging on “The Heather Report” and creating the advocacy organization, Accessible YOUniverse.  

More student stories

Share News

Share stories about Pitt Public Health students, researchers, faculty, or staff using the form at

Dean’s Day 2018 Photos

No Data Received: User or Album not found! Please check your settings